• Kemp House, 152 - 160, City Road London EC1V 2NX*
  • +44 300 365 3050
  • Kemp House, 160, City Road London EC1V 2NX
  • +44 300 365 3050

Katakwi District

Katakwi District is a district in the Eastern Region of Uganda. The town of Katakwi is the site of the district headquarters.

Katakwi District is bordered by Napak District to the north, Nakapiripirit District to the east, Kumi District to the south, Ngora District and Soroti District to the southwest and Amuria District to the west. The district’s ‘chief town’, Katakwi, is located approximately 55 kilometres (34 mi), by road, north of Soroti, the largest town in the sub-region. The coordinates of the district are:01 54N, 34 00E.

Katakwi District was created in 1997. It was formerly part of Soroti District. The district is located in the Teso sub-region, home to an estimated 2.5 million people of Iteso and Kumam ethnicities, according to the 2002 national census. In June 2005, the western part of the district was carved out to create Amuria District. The eight Ugandan districts that constitute Teso sub-region are:

  • Amuria District
    Bukedea District
    Kaberamaido District
    Katakwi District
    Kumi District
    Ngora District
    Serere District
    Soroti District

In 1991, the population of Katakwi District was estimated at about 75,200. The national census in 2002 estimated the population of the district at 118,900. The calculated population growth rate in the district is 4.3%. In 2012, the district population was estimated at approximately 176,800.

Economic activities
Subsistence agriculture and pastoral animal husbandry are the two main economic activities in Katakwi District. In recent years, attempts to start commercial agriculture have been initiated. Crops grown include the following:

  • Cassava

Prominent people
Some of the prominent people from the district, include the following:

Major (Retired) Jessica Alupo – Current Minister of Education & Sports in Uganda’s Cabinet
Proscovia Alengot Oromait – Current Member of Parliament for “Usuk County”, Katakwi District. The youngest person to be elected to parliament on the African continent at age 19, in 2012.