• Kemp House, 152 - 160, City Road London EC1V 2NX*
  • +44 300 365 3050
  • Kemp House, 160, City Road London EC1V 2NX
  • +44 300 365 3050

Teso MPs to Attend Teso Conference in London

Hon. Patrick Okabe

 Teso Parliamentary Group will be well represented at the 4th Annual Teso Development International Conference in London taking place on 18th–23rd September, 2017 at the University of East London, London, United Kingdom.

Confirming their attendance, Hon. Patrick Okabe, MP for Serere County and the Chairman of the Group said several MPs would attend the conference. This include: himself, Hon. Ariko, the MP for Soroti Municipality and Hon. Anne Adeke Ebaju, national MP for Youths.

Others are: Hon. Isala Eragu Veronica Bichetero (Kaberamaido District), Hon. Opolot Isiagi Patrick (Kachumbala County), Hon. Angura Fredrick (Tororo County), Hon. Hellen Adoa (Serere Distrcit), Hon. David Abala (Ngora County), Hon. Julius Ochen (Kapelebyong County), Hon. Violet Akurut Adome (Katakwi District),

Hon. Hellen Adoa

Hon. Anita Among (Bukedea District) and Hon. Kenneth Esiangu (Soroti County).

Besides attending, the MPs will participate actively as either Speakers or Chairs of sessions. For example, Hon. Okabe will speak about strategies for the economic development of Teso. Hon. Ariko will speak about the role of leadership and politics in the development of Teso. Hon. Among’s paper will be about the role of women in promoting culture and development while Hon. Adoa will speak about how to improve education in Teso.

The MPs from Teso will be joined by Hon. Odongo-Otto, Member of Parliament, Aruu County, Pader district. The title of Hon. Otto’s paper is, “Unequal and inequitable development: Why is Northern and Eastern Uganda lagging and how can they catch up with the rest of Uganda?”

Hon. Herbert Ariko

Other MPs attending the conference are Hon. Alex Bakunda Byarugaba, MP, Isingiro South & Chairman, Natural Resources Committee and Hon. Andrew Baryayanga, MP, Kabale Municipality, Kabale district who will both speak about alleviating drought and water stress in Teso.

The youngest MP from Teso, Hon. Anna Adeke will chair a session on the role of Youth in the development of Teso. Hon. Okupa on the other hand will chair a session where Agnes Egunyu Akiror, State Minister in charge of Teso Affairs will outline government plans for the development of Teso region.

The MPs will attend a Gala Dinner to raise £20,000 for IWA Mobile Clinic and to initiate our recently appointed chiefs, Solomon Emong and Michael Okwalinga. The Dinner and initiation ceremony will take place on Friday 22nd September, 2017 at The Royal Regency Hotel.

Conference web page https://www.iwa-uk.org.uk/category/teso-conference/ | tell +4430 0365 3050 | email tdic@iwa-uk.org.uk. Contact person: Patrick Igulot, Executive Director, IWA UK

Hon. Anna Adeke


Hon. Odonga-Otto


Hon. Elija Okupa


Hon. Alex Bekunda Byaruhanga


Hon. Violet Akurut


Hon. Anita Among